Public channel can't be disabled #139

Closed
opened 2026-10-27 15:40:36 +01:00 by adam · 3 comments
Owner

Trying to set up a T-deck for kids to enable family communications and don't want them exposed to the wider world of random people in Public. It would be great if Public were not set to fixed and could be removed or disabled.

Trying to set up a T-deck for kids to enable family communications and don't want them exposed to the wider world of random people in Public. It would be great if Public were not set to `fixed` and could be removed or disabled. <!-- github-sync-id:4030945338 -->
adam closed this issue 2026-10-27 15:40:36 +01:00
Author
Owner

added into v0.9.11!
when deleted, there is now a extra button in the mgmt/channels to "restore" the public channel (to not enter the key).

added into v0.9.11! when deleted, there is now a extra button in the mgmt/channels to "restore" the public channel (to not enter the key). <!-- github-comment-id:4013774769 -->
Author
Owner

An observation:

(I use v0.9.10 on LilyGo T-Deck Plus.)

I was shortly testing the software "RemoteTerm for MeshCore, paired via Bluetooth.

When I came back to the T-Deck with MC-Term, all channels were deleted, including "Public".

I could re-add channels, and the messages also did re-appear (they kept to be assigned to the channel slot, e.g. 0st, 1st, 2nd, 3rd … channel in the channel list, not assigned to the channel name).

I also coud re-add "Public" by writing "Public" in the channel name (I used the #0 channel slot for it); not sure yet if it is the real public channel since I did not receive yet messages there. In the Channels management screen, it says "fixed" besides the re-added "Public" channel. I cannot see the channel key/ has there to check if it is the correct one for the "Public" channel, or if it is derived from the string "Public" which, as I understand, would yield a different result than the real "Public" channel needs.
Connecting via companion software "meshcore-open", I see that this manually (re)added channel "Public" is a private channel. From the app I joined an empty channel, this is the correct public chanel. On the T-Deck, I have channel #0 and channel #13 now displaying as "Public", and both have the attribute "fixed" (even if channel #0 is not the public channel).

Regards!

An observation: *(I use v0.9.10 on LilyGo T-Deck Plus.)* I was shortly testing the software "[RemoteTerm for MeshCore](https://github.com/jkingsman/Remote-Terminal-for-MeshCore/), paired via Bluetooth. When I came back to the T-Deck with MC-Term, all channels were deleted, _including_ "Public". I could re-add channels, and the messages also did re-appear (they kept to be assigned to the channel slot, e.g. 0st, 1st, 2nd, 3rd &hellip; channel in the channel list, not assigned to the channel name). I also coud re-add "Public" by writing "Public" in the channel name (I used the \#0 channel slot for it)<del>; not sure yet if it is the real public channel since I did not receive yet messages there. In the Channels management screen, it says "fixed" besides the re-added "Public" channel. I cannot see the channel key/ has there to check if it is the correct one for the "Public" channel, or if it is derived from the string "Public" which, as I understand, would yield a different result than the real "Public" channel needs</del>. Connecting via companion software "[meshcore-open](https://github.com/zjs81/meshcore-open/)", I see that this manually (re)added channel "Public" is a private channel. From the app I joined an empty channel, this is the correct public chanel. On the T-Deck, I have channel \#0 _and_ channel \#13 now displaying as "Public", and _both_ have the attribute "fixed" (even if channel \#0 is _not_ the public channel). Regards! <!-- github-comment-id:4039420309 -->
Author
Owner

added into v0.9.11!

I can confirm.

I think this issue can be closed now.

One aesthetic issue:

When I leave the "Public" channel, in Mgmt -> Channels, there is "Public" in the same row as "Join channel", with "Join" right of "Public" (but one has to click "Public", not "Join", to re-join the "Public" channel).

I suggest to move the "Public" channel join function into a row on it's own, like when one has joined it it also occupies a row on it's own.

Regards!

> added into v0.9.11! I can confirm. I think this issue can be closed now. One aesthetic issue: When I leave the "Public" channel, in `Mgmt` -> `Channels`, there is "Public" in the same row as "Join channel", with "Join" right of "Public" (but one has to click "Public", not "Join", to re-join the "Public" channel). I suggest to move the "Public" channel join function into a row on it's own, like when one has joined it it also occupies a row on it's own. Regards! <!-- github-comment-id:4112271915 -->
Sign in to join this conversation.
No labels
1 Participants
Notifications
Due Date
No due date set.
Dependencies

No dependencies set.

Reference: adam/meshcore#139