Recent znc versions will send you a private message from *status upon connecting to the bouncer if it's running in debug mode. I understand the reason for this message but please add an option to (optionally) disable this warning (config, command line, etc.). Every time I connect to the bouncer my client is telling me I have new private messages which is really annoying.
I'm the only user on my bouncer and I have root access anyway. If an admin had bad intentions on a multi user instance, they could simply remove the warning and compile znc themself. There are better options if you want to snoop on your users.
I'm running znc in debug mode on purpose since debugging connection issues without stdout is really annoying and I don't want to have to restart znc just to enable debugging and then restart it again to disable it.
Recent znc versions will send you a private message from *status upon connecting to the bouncer if it's running in debug mode. I understand the reason for this message but please add an option to (optionally) disable this warning (config, command line, etc.). Every time I connect to the bouncer my client is telling me I have new private messages which is really annoying.
I'm the only user on my bouncer and I have root access anyway. If an admin had bad intentions on a multi user instance, they could simply remove the warning and compile znc themself. There are better options if you want to snoop on your users.
I'm running znc in debug mode on purpose since debugging connection issues without stdout is really annoying and I don't want to have to restart znc just to enable debugging and then restart it again to disable it.
Commit that introduced this feature: https://github.com/znc/znc/commit/ab501767a18eece2b3c553868d0c7cfbe496d658
<!-- github-sync-id:326978147 -->
I'm running znc in debug mode on purpose since debugging connection issues without stdout is really annoying and I don't want to have to restart znc just to enable debugging and then restart it again to disable it.
@magnum7385
> I'm running znc in debug mode on purpose since debugging connection issues without stdout is really annoying and I don't want to have to restart znc just to enable debugging and then restart it again to disable it.
<!-- github-comment-id:392507632 -->
He can ignore/filter the status query if he doesn't want it. The entire purpose of the message is to be annoying. (The feature wasn't introduced to avoid people snooping on your znc; in general you shouldn't be on a bouncer hosted by someone you don't trust. This feature is for transperancy, users SHOULD know that debug mode is enabled when they are connected.)
In the end, if you're running znc in debug mode permanently, there's something wrong with the software; not with the notification that tells you about it. (and I think #1370 is the fix for this)
PS. Nice Sif avatar, Lupinus
PSS. Alternatively we could improve the behaviour of this commit, show it only once per user per hour or so.
@DarthGandalf I have objections.
https://github.com/znc/znc/issues/1370 is the real solution to this problem.
He can ignore/filter the status query if he doesn't want it. The entire purpose of the message is to be annoying. (The feature wasn't introduced to avoid people snooping on your znc; in general you shouldn't be on a bouncer hosted by someone you don't trust. This feature is for transperancy, users SHOULD know that debug mode is enabled when they are connected.)
In the end, if you're running znc in debug mode permanently, there's something wrong with the software; not with the notification that tells you about it. (and I think #1370 is the fix for this)
PS. Nice Sif avatar, Lupinus
PSS. Alternatively we could improve the behaviour of this commit, show it only once per user per hour or so.
<!-- github-comment-id:392728394 -->
Ability to turn debugging on at runtime (#1370) doesn't make such
notification useful.
2018-05-29 11:24 GMT+01:00 Jos Ahrens <notifications@github.com>:
> @DarthGandalf <https://github.com/DarthGandalf> I have objections.
>
> #1370 <https://github.com/znc/znc/issues/1370> is the real solution to
> this problem.
>
> He can ignore/filter the status query if he doesn't want it.
>
> —
> You are receiving this because you were mentioned.
> Reply to this email directly, view it on GitHub
> <https://github.com/znc/znc/issues/1541#issuecomment-392728394>, or mute
> the thread
> <https://github.com/notifications/unsubscribe-auth/AAT15JwS8yTYET3Lu7Y4c-05isWjPl3gks5t3SHCgaJpZM4UP_EI>
> .
>
<!-- github-comment-id:392763816 -->
Yes it does, if it's enabled while you are connected.
The feature itself would probably also broadcast to all connected clients that "debug mode is now being turned on" and "debug mode is now being turned off".
Yes it does, if it's enabled while you are connected.
The feature itself would probably also broadcast to all connected clients that "debug mode is now being turned on" and "debug mode is now being turned off".
<!-- github-comment-id:392886265 -->
With https://github.com/znc/znc/pull/1556 this should now be mitigated, run znc like znc --foreground > out.log or using systemd and then toggle the debug mode when you want to debug connections. (or start it in debug mode and turn it off when you're done with it)
With https://github.com/znc/znc/pull/1556 this should now be mitigated, run znc like `znc --foreground > out.log` or using systemd and then toggle the debug mode when you want to debug connections. (or start it in debug mode and turn it off when you're done with it)
<!-- github-comment-id:398081507 -->
Blocking a user prevents them from interacting with repositories, such as opening or commenting on pull requests or issues. Learn more about blocking a user.
Recent znc versions will send you a private message from *status upon connecting to the bouncer if it's running in debug mode. I understand the reason for this message but please add an option to (optionally) disable this warning (config, command line, etc.). Every time I connect to the bouncer my client is telling me I have new private messages which is really annoying.
I'm the only user on my bouncer and I have root access anyway. If an admin had bad intentions on a multi user instance, they could simply remove the warning and compile znc themself. There are better options if you want to snoop on your users.
I'm running znc in debug mode on purpose since debugging connection issues without stdout is really annoying and I don't want to have to restart znc just to enable debugging and then restart it again to disable it.
Commit that introduced this feature: https://github.com/znc/znc/commit/ab501767a18eece2b3c553868d0c7cfbe496d658
Why are you running your instance in debug mode?
@magnum7385
Thanks, @psychon
@Zarthus any objections to reverting that commit?
@DarthGandalf I have objections.
https://github.com/znc/znc/issues/1370 is the real solution to this problem.
He can ignore/filter the status query if he doesn't want it. The entire purpose of the message is to be annoying. (The feature wasn't introduced to avoid people snooping on your znc; in general you shouldn't be on a bouncer hosted by someone you don't trust. This feature is for transperancy, users SHOULD know that debug mode is enabled when they are connected.)
In the end, if you're running znc in debug mode permanently, there's something wrong with the software; not with the notification that tells you about it. (and I think #1370 is the fix for this)
PS. Nice Sif avatar, Lupinus
PSS. Alternatively we could improve the behaviour of this commit, show it only once per user per hour or so.
Ability to turn debugging on at runtime (#1370) doesn't make such
notification useful.
2018-05-29 11:24 GMT+01:00 Jos Ahrens notifications@github.com:
Yes it does, if it's enabled while you are connected.
The feature itself would probably also broadcast to all connected clients that "debug mode is now being turned on" and "debug mode is now being turned off".
With https://github.com/znc/znc/pull/1556 this should now be mitigated, run znc like
znc --foreground > out.logor using systemd and then toggle the debug mode when you want to debug connections. (or start it in debug mode and turn it off when you're done with it)