Case 1 : znc automatically connects to networks with IRCConnectEnabled=true in znc.conf, and IRCConnectEnabled is changed to "true" in several cases.
Even if you set IRCConnectEnabled to false, IRCConnectEnabled could be set to true again in znc.conf for currently connected networks when
you execute /znc saveconfig, shutdown, or restart.
you save settings in webadmin.
znc receives SIGUSR1 signal.
If there was a setting like "AutoConnectOnBoot" which, if set to true, makes znc connect automatically during startup,
users don't have to constantly keep an eye on IRCConnectEnable.
Case 2: znc can disconnect from or connect to networks unexpectedly when you make znc rehash.
If IRCConnectEnabled was false for freenode network in znc.conf and you executed "/znc connect" for freenode network,
when you rehash znc, znc would disconnect you from freenode since IRCConnectEnabled is set to false again by rehash.
If rehashes make znc disconnect or connect, users can be easily led to confusions.
Discussion :
The current design can easily confuse users.
If the role of IRCConnectEnabled was restricted and new settings were made for finer control,
users wouldn't experience inconvenience or confusions.
Case 1 : znc automatically connects to networks with IRCConnectEnabled=true in znc.conf, and IRCConnectEnabled is changed to "true" in several cases.
Even if you set IRCConnectEnabled to false, IRCConnectEnabled could be set to true again in znc.conf for currently connected networks when
1) you execute /znc saveconfig, shutdown, or restart.
2) you save settings in webadmin.
3) znc receives SIGUSR1 signal.
If there was a setting like "AutoConnectOnBoot" which, if set to true, makes znc connect automatically during startup,
users don't have to constantly keep an eye on IRCConnectEnable.
Case 2: znc can disconnect from or connect to networks unexpectedly when you make znc rehash.
If IRCConnectEnabled was false for freenode network in znc.conf and you executed "/znc connect" for freenode network,
when you rehash znc, znc would disconnect you from freenode since IRCConnectEnabled is set to false again by rehash.
If rehashes make znc disconnect or connect, users can be easily led to confusions.
Discussion :
The current design can easily confuse users.
If the role of IRCConnectEnabled was restricted and new settings were made for finer control,
users wouldn't experience inconvenience or confusions.
<!-- github-sync-id:3003578 -->
Just don't rehash. Most stuff is configurable through admin/webadmin. Settings that aren't configurable through them, don't need to be changed often.
And do you really need to repeat again and again that incomplete list of situations when ZNC saves its config?
Anyway, this is duplicate of #110. No need to open hundreds of new tickets about the same issue, crocket.
Just don't rehash. Most stuff is configurable through admin/webadmin. Settings that aren't configurable through them, don't need to be changed often.
And do you really need to repeat again and again that incomplete list of situations when ZNC saves its config?
Anyway, this is duplicate of #110. No need to open hundreds of new tickets about the same issue, crocket.
<!-- github-comment-id:3699054 -->
Blocking a user prevents them from interacting with repositories, such as opening or commenting on pull requests or issues. Learn more about blocking a user.
Case 1 : znc automatically connects to networks with IRCConnectEnabled=true in znc.conf, and IRCConnectEnabled is changed to "true" in several cases.
Even if you set IRCConnectEnabled to false, IRCConnectEnabled could be set to true again in znc.conf for currently connected networks when
you execute /znc saveconfig, shutdown, or restart.
you save settings in webadmin.
znc receives SIGUSR1 signal.
If there was a setting like "AutoConnectOnBoot" which, if set to true, makes znc connect automatically during startup,
users don't have to constantly keep an eye on IRCConnectEnable.
Case 2: znc can disconnect from or connect to networks unexpectedly when you make znc rehash.
If IRCConnectEnabled was false for freenode network in znc.conf and you executed "/znc connect" for freenode network,
when you rehash znc, znc would disconnect you from freenode since IRCConnectEnabled is set to false again by rehash.
If rehashes make znc disconnect or connect, users can be easily led to confusions.
Discussion :
The current design can easily confuse users.
If the role of IRCConnectEnabled was restricted and new settings were made for finer control,
users wouldn't experience inconvenience or confusions.
Just don't rehash. Most stuff is configurable through admin/webadmin. Settings that aren't configurable through them, don't need to be changed often.
And do you really need to repeat again and again that incomplete list of situations when ZNC saves its config?
Anyway, this is duplicate of #110. No need to open hundreds of new tickets about the same issue, crocket.