I encountered the following issue in my piwigo installation:
I added some photos to my galleries folder and afterwards wanted to perform a quick sync.
The docker container where piwigo is running (linuxserver/piwigo) did not properly show contents of my image folder and hence it seemed empty for piwigo.
Without asking my entire picture gallery was deleted via the quick sync.
A quick restart of the docker container made the galleries folder show files again, but by that time I had to recreate my entire albums, ordering, etc. in Piwigo.
Feature request:
If a user clicks on "Synchronization", check, if the galleries folder is empty first: If that is the case: Show warning to user, like "Your galleries folder seems to be empty. If you proceed all your albums will be deleted. Do you want to continue?" with two options: "Yes, delete albums", "No, abort synchronization".
With that security mechanism other users don't fall into the this trap in the future.
Hi,
thanks for providing piwigo!
## Background Info
I encountered the following issue in my piwigo installation:
I added some photos to my galleries folder and afterwards wanted to perform a quick sync.
The docker container where piwigo is running (linuxserver/piwigo) did not properly show contents of my image folder and hence it seemed empty for piwigo.
Without asking my entire picture gallery was deleted via the quick sync.
A quick restart of the docker container made the galleries folder show files again, but by that time I had to recreate my entire albums, ordering, etc. in Piwigo.
## Feature request:
* If a user clicks on "Synchronization", check, if the galleries folder is empty first: If that is the case: Show warning to user, like "Your galleries folder seems to be empty. If you proceed all your albums will be deleted. Do you want to continue?" with two options: "Yes, delete albums", "No, abort synchronization".
With that security mechanism other users don't fall into the this trap in the future.
<!-- github-sync-id:808281031 -->
we have already a safety mechanism which is the simulated sync; I don't see any better version than just a complete simulation of what will happen even though we could improve the display of the reporting.
We could add a "Don't delete" option, in order to keep pictures which are momentarily not accessible for cases such as external drives... but that's not exactly what you need. What you need, is just to execute a simulation.
I used the sync and had unexpected issues on a old shared web-hosting; now I always perform a simulation to avoid any king of bad surprises
we have already a safety mechanism which is the simulated sync; I don't see any better version than just a complete simulation of what will happen even though we could improve the display of the reporting.
We could add a "Don't delete" option, in order to keep pictures which are momentarily not accessible for cases such as external drives... but that's not exactly what you need. What you need, is just to execute a simulation.
I used the sync and had unexpected issues on a old shared web-hosting; now I always perform a simulation to avoid any king of bad surprises
<!-- github-comment-id:792671610 -->
Blocking a user prevents them from interacting with repositories, such as opening or commenting on pull requests or issues. Learn more about blocking a user.
Hi,
thanks for providing piwigo!
Background Info
I encountered the following issue in my piwigo installation:
I added some photos to my galleries folder and afterwards wanted to perform a quick sync.
The docker container where piwigo is running (linuxserver/piwigo) did not properly show contents of my image folder and hence it seemed empty for piwigo.
Without asking my entire picture gallery was deleted via the quick sync.
A quick restart of the docker container made the galleries folder show files again, but by that time I had to recreate my entire albums, ordering, etc. in Piwigo.
Feature request:
With that security mechanism other users don't fall into the this trap in the future.
we have already a safety mechanism which is the simulated sync; I don't see any better version than just a complete simulation of what will happen even though we could improve the display of the reporting.
We could add a "Don't delete" option, in order to keep pictures which are momentarily not accessible for cases such as external drives... but that's not exactly what you need. What you need, is just to execute a simulation.
I used the sync and had unexpected issues on a old shared web-hosting; now I always perform a simulation to avoid any king of bad surprises